a. Introduction
The Government of the Republic of Korea through the Korea International Cooperation Agency (KOICA) is promoting the Saemaul Movement as a new paradigm and model for inclusive and sustainable rural development in. In April 2015 the KOICA signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the Ministry of Finance, Planning and Economic Development (MFPED) of the Republic of Uganda for the establishment of Saemaul model villages (ESMV) in Uganda.
General Information: ESMV project period; 3 Years, 2015 -18, Funding; Bilateral Grant of 2.5 million USD from the Republic of Korea and 0.5 million USD as co-funding from The Republic of Uganda, target beneficiaries; Rural households from seven villages selected from each of the seven Lower Local Governments of Mpigi District; the villages are; Lwaweeba, Lukonge, Tiliboggo, Kololo, Kiwuumu”A”, Kumbya and Nsamu.
b. Goal
To demonstrate Saemaul Undong as a new model for inclusive and sustainable community development
c. Objectives
1) Support the Government of the Republic of Uganda to achieve its strategic goal of unlocking rural growth in order to increase agricultural production, increase beneficiary farmers’ income, reduce poverty, and improve living conditions.
2) Promote a community-based integrated rural development model following the Saemaul Undong (hereinafter referred to as the SMU) approach of the Republic of Korea (ROK) with a beneficiaries’ mindset of self-help, diligence, and cooperation.
3) Increase agricultural production and development-based marketing under the Project in an economically, socially and environmentally sustainable manner.
4) Strengthen the capacity of central and local government officials and the representatives of farmer organizations/cooperatives.
d. Implementation arrangements
The ESMV implementation emphasizes harmonious and synergetic engagement of the key stakeholders as indicated below. The key stakeholders are: KOICA, Mpigi District, State House, MFPED, MAAIF, NFLC, MoLOG
e. Budget execution Procedure
On completion of training, Village Saemaul Committees will be required to make Saemaul Action Plans (SAPs) for each of their respective villages. Funds will be released to Village Saemaul Committees in accordance to their approved SAPs as shown below.

f. Achievements to date
 Constitution of the Project Steering Committee( SC)
 Constitutions of the Project Technical Committee (TC)
 Orientation of SC in South Korea
 Selection of seven beneficiary villages
 Election of Village Saemaul Committees
g. Way forward
 Baseline survey
 Saemaul Committee Trainings
 Preparation of Saemaul Action Plans
 Implementation and Monitoring Saemaul Action Plans
The above activities will be executed with full participation of the beneficiary communities to address their needs and in collaboration with local authorities to conform with the second National Development Plan (FY 2015/16 – 19/20). All activities are guided by the Saemaul Principles of Self-help, Diligence and Cooperation
h. Target beneficiaries
Rural households in the seven villages selected from each of the seven Lower Local Governments of Mpigi District. The villages are organized into Saemaul Committees as indicated below.
Village Saemaul Committees VSCs